N. Moore Street and Lee Highway, in 1913

Mosaic District, in 1954

The Lee Highway Drive-In opened August 26, 1954 with a capacity for 1,000 cars. One entrance was on Lee Highway and the other on Gallows Road. This drive-in later had a capacity for 1,350 cars. The Lee Highway Drive-In closed in 1984 and was replaced by a multiplex theater.

Lee Highway Drive-in

Manassas National Battlefield Park of Prince William County

Located north of Manassas in Prince William County, the Manassas National Battlefield Park sites the area where the American Civil War battles took place in July 21, 1861 ( First Battle of Bull Run) and in August 28 and 30, 1862 ( Second Battle of Bull Run – First Battle of Manassas).

The National Battlefield Park was established in 1940 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places in October 15, 1966, that now offers everyone the chance to discover the site where the battles took place years ago along with the Henry Visitor Center located at the south entrance to the park that showcases the civil war era uniforms, weapons, gear, exhibits and more to highlight the First Battle of Bull Run.

Featured at Manassas National Battlefield Park:

  • Stone House – Found at the intersection of Sudley Road and Lee Highway that was occupied as a hospital during the battles.
  • Stone Bridge – Located on Lee Highway and within proximity of Bull Run where the Union retreated after the battles.
  • Brawner’s Farm – Location where the second battle began and renovated as a museum exhibiting the Second Battle of Bull Run.
  • Battery Heights – The Confederate batteries were deployed at the Union troops.
  • Matthews Hill – Site where the first battle begun.

  • The Unfinished Railroad Grade – Site where Jackson deployed his men for the second battle.
  • The Deep Cut – Area where Pope fired his attacks against the Grade.
  • Groveton – A Civil War era neighborhood with remains of a small house that was occupied by Lucinda Dogan with a Confederate Cemetry nearby.
  • New York Monuments – Site where 123 5th New York Zouaves men lost in 5 minutes.
  • Hazel Plain – Chinn family plantation now in ruins located across the Henry Hill Visitors Center.
  • Chinn Ridge – Counterattack of General James Longstreet of the second battle took place.
  • Portici – Francis Lewis plantation used as the Confederate Headquarters in the second battle now in ruins.
  • The Robinsons House – The home of James Robinson.

Manassas National Battlefield
12521 Lee Highway
Manassas, VA 20109